Electric Oven Tripping RCD - Not the heating element?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi im a long time user of diynot and thought I would register.

I have a bit of a problem.

I have a double oven that I've been using for 5 years. Now and again the heating element goes in the bottom oven so I replace it.

I thought the element went again so I replaced it, but its tripping the RCD after the oven runs for 5-10 mins.

I thought I was sent a faulty element so I did a continuity test with a multimeter on the element and im getting the right reading.

Im trying to work out what is tripping the RCD?

Can the wrong watt element make the RCD trip e.g using a 2500 watt insead of a 2000 watt? I may of bought the wrong one.

Can a faulty thermostat trip the RCD?

The top oven works fine so I dont think its the RCD.

Sponsored Links
Just because an element shows continuity does not mean it isn't faulty.

You need to carry out an insulation test between the element terminals and earth.

Believe it or not new elements can have moisture in which can leak to earth and trip the rcd.

Edited....

But I was still advised that.

That's one of the stupidest, most dangerous and irresponsible posts I've seen on here in many a long year.

This must not be done ever, and could result in someone being killed. :eek:

Sponsored Links
Now edited but I can guess what he said. I have used a insulation tester with passable results but as the element warms up the moisture moves and causes the RCD to trip. Although drying out the element i.e. sticking it in another oven can get them working again the problem is the seal is clearly gone so next time something is spilt in the oven then the fault is back so likely best way is new good element.