Painting Newly Plastered Bathroom

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Ok, just had my bathroom walls and ceiling skimmed, and will need to paint them when they are dry.

THe advice given to my wife (I was at work at the time) by the plasterer was once dry, give a coat of diluted pva glue to seal the plaster, then paint.

I was then going to paint it using some kind of "bathroom/kitchen" matt paint from one of the normal DIY stores. However, after doing some reading on here, it would seem many folks say that paint is rubbish....

What advice can you all give me on:

1. Properly preparing the plaster (I've never worked with the stuff before)
2. Properly painting it bearing in mind it's a bathroom

As much detail as possible, however simple it may seem, would be greatly appreciated, I've forked out to get this done and don't want to get it wrong!!!

Thanks all

Sponsored Links
Dilute supermatt with water and then i'd use eggshell for bathrooms or kitchen. This specific bathroom paint is just a con.

Thanks Dulux, so I should use the diluted supermatt (white?) instead of the PVA? Will this seal the plaster so it doesn't soak up any moisture from the air?

I wasn't aware you could use eggshell in a bathroom, that's good to know. Can that go on with a roller?

So many questions :)

Just found 2 PDFs on the products you just described which have answered my questions above.

Supermatt is great for walls which are not totally dry and eggshell is great for bathrooms :)

Sorted.

Thanks all, saved me messing around with PVA!

Sponsored Links
Thanks all, saved me messing around with PVA!

Yes, and saved yourself a lot of problems later on when you redecorate.. PVA on bare plaster is for property developers and quick fix merchants who wont be around when you redecorate..

Just to let you know, I followed the instructions above, and it is looking amazing, the finish is so good!

So thanks all, advice was great

Now got a bit of a problem.