Painting over oil based with water based

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
hi there,

I am not by any means a profesional painter but i like to have a go at all trades, being in the trade myself, im an electrician.

I have been having massive problems with Dulux the past few months with there oil based paints. I am painting my skirtings/ facings and they are now all yellow, to cut a long story short i have been offered a 5l tin of Sikkens Rubbol Satura, which i beleive is water based.

My question is, what is the best way to prepair the skirting's, facing's and doors before i put water based paints over oild based?

I have read a good sand down to give the water based a good key will be fine and was also told this by dulux technical but i am a bit concerned about the doors as they are not solid wood, they are wood grain affect and obviously if i sand too much the affect will dissapear or i will end up with a hole in the door if i really was silly.

I would appresiate any advice you could give me as this will be the 3rd time in total i will have to go around all of it again.

Thanks

Sponsored Links
A light rub down, Dulux Super Grip, and then your top coat should do the trick. Haven't done it myself but I do have the same problem. Dulux gloss has gone very yellow due to lack of light. Now going to be using water-based in all the other rooms...

Paul.