Parapet bricks moved after frost

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am a builder who last year completed and orangery with a parapet roof, using LBC bricks as per the spec of plans to match existing house.

Customers has complained, Bricks have now moved due to frost damage, a structural engineer has been out and said he has experience that LBC bricks sbouldnt have been used on this style of build I.e garden wall styles. I have found various forums stating the same thing but it clearly isn't widely known that these bricks should have been used as other builders like my self also are unaware, Can anyone advise. If its the bricks at fault am I liable to repair? And if not how do I prove otherwise given the fact I wasn't aware they shouldn't have been used. Any help will be much appreciated.

Sponsored Links
Is there a coping on the parapet wall with a suitable overhang/drip, and is the brickwork fine on the rest of the orangery? it's unlikely to be the brick at fault.

Last edited:
Yes, all has been done correctly. Building control signed off over a year ago. All brick work below lintel in fine, just above lintel height where parapet roof is damaged due to forst, on 2 sides of the build that doesn't get direct sun light. The side that gets the sun is not affected. I have over 13 years experience bricklaying and never once had an issue with my brickwork after until now, having said that I also haven't used London bricks before now either. After an inspection the engineer stated he'd has experience of this happening before and gave the best appropriate advice. The problem is, it may have happened before but its not widely known, so I'm at a abit of a loss as to how I prove I'm not at fault.

Last edited:
Who specified them in the first place? You’ve only worked to someone else’s specification which I assume was agreed by the client.

Sponsored Links
moved due to frost damage