Parquet - true definition?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Am in a bit of a quandary.....

New house, ordered parquet floor for hallway. Being new to this I looked at the options in the nice display area and selected what was labelled as Beech parquet flooring. The sample was about 12 inches square and had some nice grain and what I can only describe as being made up of narrow planks about 5mm thick glued onto what looks like pine backing. Since then I have seen the full product and it is installed as large planks of the pine (with smaller beech planks on top) which fit together via a tongue and groove arrangement. Sorry for the description - as said I am new to all this!

Looking at the sticky post this seems to be 'Wood Engineered' board rather than parquet. Could what I have been supplied in any legal sense be described as parquet?

Also, as a ball park figure for average quality beech parquet, what would a cost be per square metre compared to a wood engineered board? Would like to just size that up with what I am being charged.

Thanks for all and any help.
PH

Sponsored Links
There is a lot of confusion and mis-use of terminology around, I agree.
Parquet, translated from Dutch or German (Parket), means wooden flooring; parquet in Uk normally means (solid) woodblocks (even 5 or 7 fingers mosaic) in a pattern (brick, herringbone, Chevron etc).
What you have seen (and although I'm guessing cause I didn't see the display you mentioned I'm pretty sure I'm right) is what we would call 3-strip Wood-Engineered.

As professional natural wooden flooring installers (originating from The Netherlands) we try very hard to 'educate' people to use the right (English) terminology, but if then manufacturers 'translate' there products 'wrongly' it doesn't help much ;)