Phone line extension Help

Discussion in 'Alarms, CCTV & Telephones' started by greenc, 19 Dec 2009.

  1. greenc

    greenc

    Joined:
    12 Dec 2007
    Messages:
    34
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lincolnshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Wanted to extend my virgin phone line to another room. The main incoming cable is a 3 core although only the blue and white's connected, i've put in a extension cable in which was given to me its a 4 core, blue,red,green,yellow, i'm guessing i'll only be needing two of these. The extension box i've got has 6 terminals on it, can somebody tell me how to connect it all up.
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. telelec

    telelec

    Joined:
    2 Jun 2006
    Messages:
    34
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    !st thing to do is get rid of the cable you have put in , that is alarm cable not telephone cable , this will cause interference on your broadband and drop speeds , once you have the correct cable check that you have a slave extension socket and not a master ( master have a capacitor on it), on the extension it will be numbered 1-6 on there terminations , most phones nowadays only need 2 & 5 connecting , whatever colour you use on the extension , just match up the same on the front plate of the NTE main socket. If you plug a phone in and it does not ring then you will have to connect 3 up at both sockets , but again this can cause interferance on the line and reducing broadband speeds so only do this if the phone does not ring.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. greenc

    greenc

    Joined:
    12 Dec 2007
    Messages:
    34
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lincolnshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for that oh well will have to buy some cable after all then, just one question how does it interfere with the broadband i thought the broadband came through a different cable.
     
  5. telelec

    telelec

    Joined:
    2 Jun 2006
    Messages:
    34
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    sorry , just checked your post , your on VM , there telephone line has no effect on your broadband at all as it is carried down the co-ax , so you should be able to use the cable .
     
  6. greenc

    greenc

    Joined:
    12 Dec 2007
    Messages:
    34
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lincolnshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks again, at least i've not wasted my day then routing cables through the house.
     
  7. rockandroll

    rockandroll

    Joined:
    18 Dec 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom


    he could have used that cable (and there was nothing to suggest it was alarm cable) anyway - it really doesnt make a difference.
     
  8. Lectrician

    Lectrician

    Joined:
    18 Jul 2004
    Messages:
    8,515
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Devon
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Using alarm cables for phones and phone cable for alarms is a complete bodge done by sparks who don't give a damn.

    Sure it will work, but so would wiring a 13amp socket in aerial cable. We have different cables for different jobs. Do the job correctly or not at all. People pay sparks to do jobs because they are meant to know what they are doing. Using the incorrect cable for a job is incompentant.
     
  9. bernardgreen

    bernardgreen

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    26,043
    Thanks Received:
    2,595
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Using alarm cable for phones will provide a service. But later additions to the phone system may be seriously compromised by the fact that alarm cable has been used today,

    Alarm cable is not twisted pairs, telephone cable is, twisted pairs reduce pick up of hum and other interference from nearby by power cables.

    Alarm cable may not make reliable connections in the IDC connectors of telephone sockets.

    Telephone cable can be used for alarms but the other way round is recommended.
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. Europlex

    Europlex

    Joined:
    20 Nov 2007
    Messages:
    2,954
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Telephone cable can be used for alarms but is NOT recommended.

    .. being single strand it breaks very easily, especially when put under screws in JBs - it then falls apart months later giving grief.
     
  12. Paul_C

    Paul_C

    Joined:
    19 Nov 2004
    Messages:
    2,137
    Thanks Received:
    139
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Make that not recommended, but I'm sure you figured that out from Bernard's typo. :D

    The alarm cable has stranded conductors which simply do not provide a good, reliable connection in the IDC terminals of telephone jacks, which are designed for solid cores.

    You might punch the wires down and get it working, but in the long term you're almost guaranteed to have problems later.

    When you do get the correct cable, the standard wiring for your extension is:

    2 = Blue/white
    3 = Orange/white
    4 = White/orange (although not needed on a basic line)
    5 = White/blue

    (First is base color, second is stripe/band color.)
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  13. bernardgreen

    bernardgreen

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    26,043
    Thanks Received:
    2,595
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks. I really must read that which I right wrongly...... :(
     
  14. Paul_C

    Paul_C

    Joined:
    19 Nov 2004
    Messages:
    2,137
    Thanks Received:
    139
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Easily done Bernard. I've lost count of the number of times I've left out one critical word, even read through what I've written two or three times afterward and not realized until later. :D
     
  15. Lectrician

    Lectrician

    Joined:
    18 Jul 2004
    Messages:
    8,515
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Devon
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I see using phone cable for alarms just as bad as using alarm cable for telephones.

    They are designed for a specific purpose. Stick to it. It's not as if it's that expensive to buy a drum!
     
  16. rockandroll

    rockandroll

    Joined:
    18 Dec 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    who said use alarm cable for telephones?






    go read the O/P again boys
     
  17. Lectrician

    Lectrician

    Joined:
    18 Jul 2004
    Messages:
    8,515
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Devon
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well, you and telelec first brought it up - So I jumped in to say that it is not the way to correctly do things.
     
Loading...

Share This Page