Pipe size?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
This system belongs to a friend of mine who asked me why his heating isn't working. It's a Y plan and the mid-position valve isn't working leaving flow to cylinder only. It's not been done very well and you can see there is no access to the valve motor so I intend to reposition it. What I don't understand is why it's been installed with a restriction to the cylinder coil instead of 22mm. I don't do plumbing for a living so it's just a favour for a friend. Any suggestions?
2-picture1.gif

Sponsored Links
15mm feed to cylinder is fine, most likely the motor is nacked, as you say refit in a more maintenance friendly position.

Kev, the opinion of a pro is worth something so thanks, and thanks for confirming that PVMan. I was thinking there was something I didn't know about pipe sizes, not being a pro myself and the installation was done by a corgi reg engineer. I think it is the motor as with ch 'on' there is power on white and with cylinder stat satisfied there is power on grey but it looks like the motor hasn't rotated to trip micro-switch as there is no power on orange. I can't get the cover off to get to motor as it is.

Sponsored Links
With a Y-plan, it usual to fit a gate valve (lock shield) between the 3-port valve and the cylinder coil, to balance the flows. The valve is adjusted, with the system in DHW only mode, by gradually closing it down until the boiler starts to become noisy (kettles), and then opening it up a little.

The constriction may be a cheapskate way of trying to achieve the same thing (the installer was probably trying to recoup the cost of the excessive amount of flux used).