Planed all round timber - Is it usually perfectly square?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Newb DIY woodworker here. I'm about to embark on my first few projects. I want to use solid timber for the most part, including surface tops (shelf + tabletop). I've loaded up on tutorials and for the most part they use either sawn or raw timber, and then mill/plane using machines. I don't have these machines, so my options are limited to buying planed all round timber. Is this designed to be good enough to start joining straight away without any extra planing, ie is it totally square? I'm thinking wickes planed all round redwood for tops, PAR whitewood for shelves. Will I be able to biscuit join these and get a smooth finish for tops etc?

If anyone wants to know anything about building computers or CAD modelling then I know loads, I have a degree in 3D Digital Animation so ask away if you think I can help. No doubt I'll be back here asking questions as I progress through my projects. Cheers.

Sponsored Links
Although it's usually square it may well be warped or twisted, so it pays to check each purchase carefully to reduce wastage.
If you post you projects here you may get tips and tricks to save time and effort and also get alternative methods.

no, it will generally go trapezoid as its water content changes up or down. This is because of the way it is sawn from the log.

Sponsored Links
I can't find a diagram for plain sawing, but it gives the most usable timber per log, with the least skill or effort. The timber resulting suffers most from warping, cupping, and going trapezoid. Because of the way the grain of the wood runs, it is always going to change shape as moisture content varies per season or when drying out.

For some fine work, you may be able to order quarter-sawn timber, which is more stable but more expensive
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Quarter_sawing