Planning application questions

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
My new neighbour-to-be has told me he has written in to the council and commented on my current planning application to build an extension to a house we've bought.

As i've never done this before (still in my first house), can the planning authority still give the go ahead even though he has complained? The neighbour the other side is fine and he actually welcomes the work saying it will improve the house dramatically. :)

Neighbour in question is saying he will loose the light through his side lean-to polycarbonate roof (which is opaque and not clear) and that when they are in their garden sitting at their table and chairs, we will be able to stare at them out of our bedroom window. (He is in a bungalow, ours is a house.) There are no windows to the side of his house anywhere to look out at our new extension.

Personally, I think he is being a bit fussy and a bit of a PITA. Nice chap but a bit of a interferer. The only way we can stare at him through the bedroom window is if we were to lean our heads out and creak our necks to the right. :rolleyes:

I'd ask my architect but he is abroad for 2 weeks so thought i'd ask you guys as its worring me a little. I've tried to look on the council website but can't seem to find what he has said.

Also, lets say the council agree with his comments and take his side. When the 20th June dealine comes, will they say "Yes you can build but reduce the bedroom by 2 metres" or will I have to re-submit the whole application again?

It's a very fussy area btw, woodland at the rear, golf course at the front but there has been quite a bit of development two and three doors down which is now finished.

Sponsored Links