Planning Permission Granted with added "condition"

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello

I am new to this, after scrolling through many forums over the last 6 months and reading other people's advice I thought I would chance at seeing people's advice/experience on our own current planning situation and it would be greatly appreciated. I apologise in advance if this seems long winded.

Background - we applied at the start of August to build a two storey extension to our end of terrace house dimensions going away from the house 3 metres and the length being 4 metres thus providing us with an extra bedroom and better size kitchen with dining area for our family as it is a tight fit at the moment! Aswell as being end of terrace we are also the corner plot so have a much larger than average back garden also. We spoke to immediate neighbours before submitting plans so as to be courteous and both agreed it will not effect them at all as it is good distance from both their gardens and they were happy and we assured we would keep them in the loop of comings and goings of works and machinery. So it came as a surprise to get an objection on the last day for objections from a house to the rear of our property. These neighbours are relatively new they bought the house little over a year ago. Polite enough we have seen them within the community and they have spoken and seem very neighbourly. In there objection they listed that we would be encroaching on there privacy being able to overlook there back garden and they also raised the issue of the fence that borders our garden and theirs and stated we don't keep it in a sufficient state of repair and that already effects there privacy from us.