Planning Policies and consistent application

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

Newbie here so don't be too harsh!

I am after a bit of advice, we are about to have our planning permission refused, we have had an e-mail from the planners asking us to withdraw or they will refuse it. I wont withdraw it as I want to appeal, plus I know they only ask to improve their stats!

The Planning Department are not applying policies consistently. We are being rejected due to overbearing however neighbours have had permission with exactly the same distances involved. I admit that there may be a small amount of overbearing however surely policies should be applied consistently! What are peoples thoughts on this?

Thanks in advance

Edit: I probably should have said that an inspector is likely to find some overbearing as well, so it is a bit touch and go and will be down to their opinion, so I guess I am appealing against the inconsistent application of the planning policies, is this likely to work!

Sponsored Links
Your appeal will be successful if you can successfully argue against the reasons it has been rejected. There is no useful information posted to enable any other answer other than some idle chit chat.

OK, thanks, I will be a bit more specific but my basic question is should planning policies be applied consistently or is there flexability in their application.

We live in a cluster of 5 houses which are quite close together. We have no back garden for example, we have a side and front garden. There are 2 houses behind us, one directly and one ofset to the left of our property. House 1 is currently 8.5 metres from the back wall of our property at first floor level, house 2 is the same. We have no windows in our rear elevation and neither does the application.