Plaster problems at ceiling joint

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello I was hoping someone could help me. We recently moved into a detached house of brick/block construction. Some of the walls internally have wave like cracks of plaster coming off the walls near the scrim cloth/ ceiling joints. They are not big 1 inch at the biggest one, but they are really unsightly!! Does anyone have any experience of this type of problem? I was thinking dig it out along the cracks not disturbing the scrim and fill with easi-fill and sand flat. Would this be the way deal with it? Thank you

Sponsored Links
Hi, thanks for taking time to reply. I really am not sure . The house is 12 years old and several walls are like this at the top. There was little or no upkeep on the house in that time so I thought it was maybe do do with settlement, although I have no experience with it. They are scraped off quite easily leaving a solid wall underneath. Here is a picture of a wall in downstairs hall - it's worse here.

Is that artex on the ceiling? It looks like it when i enlarge the pics. Try a scraper and carefuly remove the "snotty bits" along the ceiling line, then as you say, sand down or fill.

Sponsored Links
Hi thank you for your reply. I agree it does look like artex in my photo, but it is actually plastered and quite smooth. Would you know what has caused the cracks at the joint?

Some of the walls internally have wave like cracks of plaster coming off the walls near the scrim cloth/ ceiling joints

Is there visible evidence that scrim or a tape has been used?
I'd have said with just looking at the pictures, that it looked like there was none. The cracking is quite pronounced.

Hello, thank you for your reply. I have scraped some away and there is mesh underneath. The plaster lower down the wall is solid - no hollow sounds when I tap on it.