plastering training

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi Lads!!

I'm looking to start some work experience in the plastering trade (North East)...I have some basic knowledge and worked with a plasterer in my previous job for a window company. Basically I boarded window reviles and laboured for him etc. We also carried out some property maintenance where we took out acoustic vents and I bonded them up and cement rendered the outside. I have also boarded a couple of ceilings & taped them before he plastered them.

I have been working as a double glazier for the past 4 years but I'm looking for a new change of career...

Any help or advice would be GREATLY appreciated - I'm new to this forum so not quite sure how it all works but I'm sure I'll learn.

Thanks, Dan

Sponsored Links
Welcome to the Forum Dan. Plastering is a "great" trade to learn, and if you can get in with a plastering firm or even see what your local college has to offer, that'll get you started. You've got a basic knowledge of a few things, boarding/taping, patching, rendering, after having worked with a plasterer, so make a few enquiries locally,,, or even look into plastering courses.
Our good friends on this forum, Trowel Monkey and Richard C will give you some good advice on the way forward. T/Monkey been in a similar situation,,, he's now a self employed plasterer, as is Richard C,,, among many other things.:cool:
Good luck to ya. ;)

Hey,, sorry!!!!! I forgot to mention DIYnewbee99, and Ijohn. Both are getting into plastering, and getting on fine. ;)

Thanks roughcaster, as I mentioned the more advice and help the better as I really am desperate to get into this trade.

I have posted over 15 letters and CVs to different local companies, as well as numerous phone calls. The Job Centre isnt much help either! I haven't had one reply and they were all posted well over 8 weeks ago.