plastic or copper pipe?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I have had a kitchen/bedroom extension built and I am just get prices for the plumbing work. I have been asked by my plumber if I want copper or plastic pipe - which is the best and which is the most expensive - I assume copper?. I want the CH extended into the new bedroom/ensuite and the MainsW moved in the kitchen and also fed into the ensuite. HW also has to be piped into the ensuite.
I require a new radiator in the bedroom and a towel rail in the ensuite. I also require two plinth heaters in the new kitchen. I also want the shower/sink and toliet plumbed in. I have been quoted £3000 as worst case - does this sound high? - I know you cant tell without looking but just as a ball park figure.

Sponsored Links
You can use either and it's a case of personal preference.

I prefer copper with soldered joints anywhere not immediately accessible but, I'm sure, others will have different opinions :LOL:

Im not a pro but since using the Hep20 plastic push fit system im never going back to copper!

Slightly more expensive, but saves so much time and effort, slightly flexible and will not corrode like copper

Good luck!

Sponsored Links
Copper.

Plastic pipe with push-fit fittings should be avoided. Plastic is best when used with compression joints.

Plastic has inserts which can be places where crud builds up. Also the inserts reduce the pipe diameter.

Also avoid plastic pipe that uses plastic inserts - use only metal inserts.

gas4you said:
Doctor Drivel said:
Also avoid plastic pipe that uses plastic inserts - use only metal inserts.

Just out of curiosity why?

The metal is stronger and keeps the pipe round better. When using compression joints a strong pipe is far better.

If your CH is open vented they you could use either.

If a sealed system then my advice would be to use copper as plastic cannot stand some fault conditions.

Tony

Polypipe barrier takes 7Bar@82 degrees.... covers most CH faults no?