Playhouse Project

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi

I have to say up front... i am completely new to diy, but am always willing to give things a go .

I bought my children a playhouse for christmas. It was errected by the company i purchased it from. It's on stilts with a swing and slide coming off it. I plan to paint the outside with cuprinol shades when the weather gets a bit better.

I also want to do something with the inside. Maybe insulate it in some way and put up either plasterboard and paint etc. Maybe some battery operated lights etc. I want to make it a bit like their own little house!

Does anyone have some tips for me? What materials to use? What type of insulation and other things to consider? Is the cuprinol a good idea? :rolleyes:

Thank you!
Hema

Sponsored Links
Any chance of a photo?
Presumably this is in the garden, so any materials you choose must withstand considerable humidity - which rules out plasterboard!
Maybe the inside could be lined with polythene to keep the draughts out - its not feasable to heat it or insulate it really.
Most timber treatments are water based these days so once dry, present little hazard.
Battery lights are a good idea! LED ones will last a long time, whereas normal bulbs will drain a battery down in no time.
John :)

I'm totally new to this forum, i just created an album with a picture in it of the structure! I hope you can see it.

Re: plasterboard, glad i'm doing my homework first!

Hey, how cool is that :cool: I'm thinking of putting myself up for adoption :D
Using a cuprinol type water based product is fine for colour effect - just treat the stilt legs handsomely to keep them good!
Regarding insulation - just keep the draughts out. Insulation doesn't warm the place up, it just helps to maintain the temperature that the structure is already at.
If the felt roof is nailed on, eventually water will seep through the nail holes, so some sealing compound over them is worthwhile.
Welcome to the forum!
John :)