Please help a beginner ! ! ! !

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
First off I am a complete beginner. But since moving to a house that needs a ton of work budget is stretch so have had to do most of the work myself.

Anyway, the old bath suite was awful so we purchased a new one. The pipework all needed to be moved as the bath, basin and toilet positions have changed.

Problem has occured with the bath and new shower. I have put all the pipework in and there were no leaks but the pressure on the hot tap is now greatly reduced compared to what it was before I started playing around.

The cold pipes are 15mm pipes, but the hot was 22mm. I put on this converter bit (see, i know all the technical terms) to change it to 15mm. Basically 22mm pipe going in and 2 15mm pipes going out - one to the bath and one to the shower. Could that be the problem?

Because of the low pressure on the hot tap, the shower mixer thing doesn't work cos the cold water outweighs the hot so to speak. The pressure on the hot tap downstairs in the kitchen is fine.

Any ideas? Any help is greatly appreciated - especially since I am a complete beginner just trying to get the house ready so the family can move in.

Look forward to the replies - even the sarcastic reply from Kevplumb :LOL:

Sponsored Links
OK - will do that. You know when you start something and then wish you hadn't bothered??? How i feel :confused:

Anyway, will redo it and see how it goes. Thanks Kev

Sponsored Links
There is a good chance you have air locked the pipe, easily done, and most of the time, easily remedied. Without seeing it, I couldn't say for sure, but thats what I'd put my money on.

No no no no no no no no no yes.

But where do your supplies come from?
If you have mains cold and tank fed hot, ye'rrrr doooomed.

A bit of 15mm will make no difference to the shower - all the water goes up a skinny hose anyway.

Where does the supply come from?? This could be tricky :D but i will try to explain.