Please help...kitchen extractor fan

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello I just moved into a new flat and the kitchen extraction fan doesn't turn on. It is connected to a humidistat vent-axia 563550 with a pull switch. There are three wires from the window mounted fan blue, yellow and brown. The humidistat has 5 4 3 L N with a red wire between the 3 and the L. I have no experience with electrical. Thanks for any input.

Sponsored Links
Hello I just moved into a new flat and the kitchen extraction fan doesn't turn on. It is connected to a humidistat vent-axia 563550 with a pull switch. There are three wires from the window mounted fan blue, yellow and brown. The humidistat has 5 4 3 L N with a red wire between the 3 and the N. I have no experience with electrical. Thanks for any input.
Is there a switched fused connection unit nearby that may not be turned on?
Your description seems to contradict the manufacturers instructions which have links between the L cable but not the Neutral cable. It is difficult to know from the instructions whether any links are factory fitted.
Can you provide photographs of what you have described.
Also have you read the instructions, this appliance has an overide facility
OPERATION
This sensor is designed to respond to the severity of moisture generating activity as well as the
ambient humidity and then to switch on an extract fan.
The pullcord will override the RH control and switch the fan to run continuously. The pullcord
should be pulled again to return the sensor to the automatic mode activated by the Humidity
sensor. There is no permanent “OFF” position.
Note to the installer and end user.
When power is first applied to the sensor, it will switch the fan on for approximately 2 seconds to
indicate power is connected. If the fan remains switched on for more than 10 seconds, the
pullcord should be pulled once to check that the sensor is not in override mode. (LED will go out).