Please Help Me With TapsUK Issue

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
All,

Please help me with an issue/dilemna I have with TapsUK. I bought a monobloc mixer tap from them 2 years ago, installed it and then 2 weeks ago was sat watching telly when I heard dripping coming from my hallway and water leaking out my RCD unit. I went upstairs to find the braided hose squirting water in my vanity unit.

I isolated the tap and removed it to find the braided hoses all frayed and the tap corroded as well as the o-rings damaged.

After a serious amount of arguing with TapsUK and the parent company Utsumi they are trying to wash their hands of any blame on their part and saying that the hoses must have worn due to rubbing causing fraying and that a leak was due to overtightening of the compression fittings. One of the braided hoses was missing an o-ring.

I have damage to my hallway ceiling and have obivously had to order a new tap from a different supplier.

I am an Aerospace engineer and I believe the braided hoses are of inferior quality. Can you guys have a look at the photos and offer your professional opinion please ?

Based on the way they have treated me I really want to take this further. I installed the tap into a kitchen worktop in my bathroom and I fail to see how else this tap can be installed. Plus the taps are braided stainless steel they should not wear like this.

Plus the base of this tap shows evidence of corrosion

My personal thoughts are that the crap quality hoses have been corroded due to the rubbish o-ring leading to fraying and ultimately then the rubbing has led to the rubber innard splitting

Any help would be much appreciated

Kind Regards

Grant

Sponsored Links
Sorry, but you won't like this. If someone brought those to me with a claim after 2 years my response would be:

The installer thinks the hoses are inferior quality.....2 years after fitting them?