Plywood, Osb & Plasterboard vs Home Cinema

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Good Afternoon All,

My first post here, but first of all I'd like to say there's a huge amount of helpful information on here from you guys!

This is my first project in my first house. It's a new-build property and I'm planning on putting a basic cinema system in the lounge. It'll include a 65in TV (21kg), an IKEA BESTA cabinet 180x40x0 (upto 50kg) and a 5.1 speaker system (6kg/ speaker) when I can afford it.

I was able to get one of the contractors on site to cut a hole in the plasterboard, and affix some 12mm (maybe 15mm) plywood with steel angles, and then reapply the plasterboard. What's not shown in the photos is the OSB behind where the TV will hopefully be mounted. The white plastic is a conduit for cables.

BEFORE

AFTER

Owing to the mount I've bought, I can only get the brackets across 1 stud. But behind the rest of the mounting holes, there is OSB.

So I wanted some advice as to how to mount the items. I was thinking about using cabinet hangers for the IKEA BESTA.

But for the speakers and TV, I'm a little lost. I was planning on using snap toggles or spring toggles, but I don't think there will be enough space behind to get them through. Any other advice is really appreciated.

Thank you!

RiDo

Sponsored Links
Woodscrews into the studs or the OSB. No need for e.g. spring toggles behind the OSB IMO, unless it’s very thin. I mean, that’s why you’ve put the OSB there, isn’t it?

I think the more conventional way to do this would have been to put large sheets of ply/OSB over the front of the studs over the whole wall and then plasterboard over that. No need for metal angles etc.

Woodscrews into the studs or the OSB. No need for e.g. spring toggles behind the OSB IMO, unless it’s very thin. I mean, that’s why you’ve put the OSB there, isn’t it?