1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

POE Powerline to Hikvision cam

Discussion in 'Alarms, CCTV & Telephones' started by mynameistakenalready, 8 May 2021.

  1. mynameistakenalready

    mynameistakenalready

    Joined:
    23 Dec 2020
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I currently have NVR setup indoors and it’s running fine, I need a camera down the garage at back of garden and can’t run a cable, can I use powerline adaptors such as solwise Poe ones?
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. Handymanjo

    Handymanjo

    Joined:
    2 Feb 2016
    Messages:
    1,869
    Thanks Received:
    364
    Location:
    Newark
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Problems may arise with powerline being on different circuits and different sides of RCD'S.
    Can you use an old Wi-Fi router as a range extender to the garage?
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. mynameistakenalready

    mynameistakenalready

    Joined:
    23 Dec 2020
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I could do that actually or mesh if it helps? It’s just how would I get signal back to my hikvision nvr?

    Thanks for replying
     
  5. T1GERIII

    T1GERIII

    Joined:
    19 Jul 2020
    Messages:
    117
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Powerine should work fine we have installed on garages with their own MCU. Run a POE switch through the power line and back into the house
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. Handymanjo

    Handymanjo

    Joined:
    2 Feb 2016
    Messages:
    1,869
    Thanks Received:
    364
    Location:
    Newark
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Screenshot_20210508-173817.png connect as diagram
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  7. mynameistakenalready

    mynameistakenalready

    Joined:
    23 Dec 2020
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Thank you for the replies guys that’s brilliant and something to try.
     
  8. Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page