Porcelain tile project

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi there, newbie here with a few questions about tiling a 15 sq metres of wall & floor surfaces with 300x300x10mm porcelain tiles - not being one to make life easy for myself :)

The wall is plastered brick in good condition and painted with emulsion - will the paint need to be removed?
I'm going to buy a cheap(ish) tile saw, this one gets good reviews:
http://www.screwfix.com/prods/40530...230V?cm_re=SEARCHPROMO-_-ERBAUER TILE-_-40530
Adhesive - I understand I need flexible adhesive and was going to go for a Mapei product (Keraquick) off the Screwfix website - is it suitable and do i need additive for it? Assume I can use it on the floor also?
I'm planning to use white Mapei Ultracolour Plus grout.
Is it best to lay the tile face up or face down when I cut the tiles on the cutter?

Thanks in advance,

ElShanko.

Sponsored Links
Ideally you should scrape off the emulsion.
The cutter looks fine. These always come with a crappy blade so you get what you pay for - a decent Marcrist blade would improve its performance but cost upwards of £30.
Bit expensive that adhesive - have a look at this stuff http://www.trades-direct.co.uk/modules/shop/view.asp?Prodcode=2032-109 They do the adhesive in white also, so if you wanted to use white grout then the adhesive would not show through the grout as much as if it were grey. Personally, I won't have white grout anywhere in my house and recommend that others don't either. It very quickly looks grubby and is never properly cleanable back to how it was when new. Grey is the colour of choice for me - more tasteful IMO too. I rate white grout alongside gold taps. ;) :D

Thanks for the reply gcol :)
Good steer on the Dunlop adhesive but by the time I've added VAT and delivery to the Trades Direct price for white it's practically at the price I'll be paying for Mapei Keraquick around the corner (£27.99/20kg) ;)