Porcelain tiling over a liquid screed floor

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Liquid screed was poured nearly 12 months back.

Floor has wet UFH installed.

Floor is level.

Questions;

Will I need to apply a primer as floor is porous in current state.
i have read that liquid screed floors need to be sanded, however i have been working in the room for past 12 months so there has been heavy foot traffic. I was planning to give it a a good sweep and clean to get rid of the dust.

UFH has been off for 10 months. Would it be advisable to turn on again before installation of tiles? Turn on, get up to heat, turn off and then leave for a few days before tiling.

Any recommendations on specific adhesives and spacers to use?

Many thanks.

Last edited:
Sponsored Links
Think you're probably good to go as-is. I have a conservatory with an anhydrous screed floor. It was laid for about 9 months before I was ready to tile so I was well satisfied about it being dry enough etc. Booked the tiler and literally the day before they were due to start a biblical proportion thunderstorm and a blocked valley gutter meant I ended up with over a thousand litres of water (yea, I was sad enough to measure the depth so I could work it out before I started sweeping it out the door) sat on the conservatory screed. I pushed the tiler back two weeks and put the UFH on, got it suitably dry with the cling film test and tiled it; it's been fine since - 8 years no delam etc

Just normal mapei rapid set adhesive, no primer, impervious tile. I like a thin grout line so I had 3mm but the size of tiles you choose and the laying pattern may dictate the spacer - if your tiles are say 597x397 (sold as 600x300) and you're laying them like ||=||=||= you have to use a 3mm spacer otherwise the maths doesn't line up (a standing up tile is 597+5 = 602, two lying down tiles is 297+5+297+5 = 604)

Last edited:
Hi Robin