Potterson Prima F not igniting

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi Guys,

Over the past week or so I've noticed a problem with my bolier. The radiators have only been getting luke warm and the water hasn't been very hot. All in all it seems like the boiler isn't igniting, if the heating turns on it can be 10 - 15 minutes before the boiler sparks and ignites. Once running its fine, its just the initial startup.

Is the pilot light mean't to be running all the time on this model or does it turn off when not running?

It sounds like the fans are kicking in and then you hear a tick as if it should be sparking but theres no visible spark

The thermostat in the room is on full and the pump seems to be working ok. I assume this is an issue with the ignitor or supply?

Any suggestions appreciated, I'm a novice and don't know alot about boilers, before I call an engineer just wondered if theres anything I can try

Thanks.

Sponsored Links
Get it serviced. Worse thing could be the PCB on the way out but thats a pretty good boiler and well worth keeping.

The pilot is electronic and only ignites when required to fire up main burner.

As for the problem, bar the gas valve sticking id imagine its the board. These are often the issue due to dry joints.

If you have a multimeter theres a few simple checks we can talk you through to determine how far the power is getting

Ok, thanks for the quick replie's.

Just wondering, should it not be sparking at the ignitor even if the gas flow valve is sticking \ faulty?

How much am I looking at for either a valve (fitted by engineer) or PCB?

Also - how much should I be paying for a service?

just don't want to get ripped off...

Sponsored Links
RRP for the board is £150 + vat now (it's gone up?)
+ fitting, which is within callout charge.

Service separately - whatever the callout charge is in your area. Not much to actually DO to these.