Potterton Prima 30F fault

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All,

Please can someone shed some light on this problem...

Firstly I'm not Corgi registered myself, I'm a professional landlord and one of my tenants boilers has failed. I've been working with my gas man to get this boiler fixed but we're both stumped!

We have a Potterton Prima 30F about 14 years old. It's got a fault where it won't light. The fan runs for 2-3 secs, the pressure switch clicks, then the fan slows down and stops. 10 seconds later it repeats. It just won't light the boiler at all.

So far we (or rather my gas man with me watching!) have changed both the fan and pressure switch. We've checked all the tubes, flue and gas pipes are clear. I've checked over the PCB (I used to be an electronics engineer) I resoldered some joints as a precaution. I've gone over the electrical side with my meter, and everything seems fine. A new PCB is in the region of £140 and his supplier won't give him sale-or-return on it so I'm reluctant to buy it after spending so much on it besides I'm fairly sure this ones fine.

We unplugged the gas valves and it does exactly the same and my gas man has said this would prove it's not these either.

Now here's the weird bit... it works much better with the cover on, probably 50% of the time it will light. But take the cover off (outer cover not on the heat exchanger) and it won't light at all. I know there's a seal around the cover and that seems fine too. Sounds to me like an air pressure kind of issue.

As I said I'm just helping out here, my corgi training consists of watching my gas man doing endless landlords certificates for me :D but I do have a bit of experiance with boilers. He'll be doing all the work for me.

We're a bit stumped :(

Anyone got any ideas?

Thanks,

Trevor.

Sponsored Links
You may find that the end of the flue is rotten. Causing vitiated air to be recirculated. But it's normallly a PCB.