Potterton Puma 80 Problems

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All

Complete novice here, so bear with me.

Im having problems with my boiler. It seems to run ok, but have noticed that when its been on for an hour or so, and i run a hot water tap (usually the kitchen sink tap), about 5 minutes later i get like a kettle boiling whoosh sort of sound, followed by banging of pipes, and eventually the pilot light blows out.

Ive had some plumbers round, and initially poor circulation was suspected to be the problem, mainly as all the rads were turned off still from the summer.

It was fine for a couple of weeks, but then it started happening again. Plumbers back out, and this time new PCB fitted, and a valve (not sure what it was called) on the bathroom rad to allow better flow.

Again, ok for a couple of weeks, but now back with a vengeance.

Ive also noticed a couple of times that the rads have got very very hot. Ive turned the thermostat right down, but the boiler still fired up. It got to the point where i had to shut the whole thing down for fear of it blowing up.

The plumbers are now saying they suspect scale in the heat exchanger, and that means a new boiler. Ive been quoted £1725 +vat to have a new one fitted.

Like i said, i have no idea if their recomendation is about right, or wether thats a reasonable price.

Im gonna get a 2nd opinion i think, but any advice from you guys would be much appreciated.

Sponsored Links
Ok, Potterton wont come out, as my boiler is 8 years old.

I want a second opinion on this. Ive seen lots of threads on here which sound similar to the problems im having, but none suggesting a replacement boiler.

Can anyone recommend somone who covers the Hanworth/Twickenham in Middlesex area and who knows their stuff ?

Sounds like a sticking hot water flow switch to me. Approx £30-£50 for a replcement part.

Sponsored Links
Cheers for the responses guys.