1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Power to the loft

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by richie4236, 3 Apr 2021.

  1. richie4236

    richie4236

    Joined:
    2 Nov 2007
    Messages:
    64
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gloucestershire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'd like to put power in our loft, but I'm not sure of the best way, or what regulations might cover it.

    There's a spur that a previous owner of the house put in, but tracing that lead back to a ceiling rose in a bedroom, so I don't want to go anywhere near that.

    What should I be considering? Can I break into a socket in a bedroom, or do need to go right back to the CU? Does it need to be a fused spur? If I break into a socket in a bedroom, can I go up the wall from the socket, or do I need to find a different route?

    Thanks for in advance.
     
  2. Mottie

    Mottie

    Joined:
    27 Feb 2017
    Messages:
    14,751
    Thanks Received:
    1,674
    Location:
    Essexshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That’s what I did - spurred off of the upstairs ring circuit - although I only have a twin socket in the loft that I power my cctv from. My loft lighting is taken off of the upstairs lighting circuit.
     
  3. Sponsored Links
  4. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    20,119
    Thanks Received:
    2,069
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What is it that you want to power in your loft? There’s a big difference between hot tub and a TV amplifier.
     
  5. richie4236

    richie4236

    Joined:
    2 Nov 2007
    Messages:
    64
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gloucestershire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's to run occasional power tools, cctv, and a switch so I can drop giga-bit ethernet to my kids PCs.

    I was under the impression that running any socket off a 5amp lighting circuit was a no-no?
     
  6. Sponsored Links
  7. oldbutnotdead

    oldbutnotdead

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2013
    Messages:
    4,014
    Thanks Received:
    810
    Location:
    Durham
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Power tools would be a bit naughty on a 6a lighting circuit but cctv etc would be ok. Better to spur off the upstairs sockets via safe zone (straight up from existing socket). Note- that new bit of cable must be protected by an rcd, as must the new socket. If upstairs power is already via rcd then carry on
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Share This Page