1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Powermax 155x - Hot Water but no Central Heating

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by Buzz9991, 3 Oct 2009.

  1. Buzz9991

    Buzz9991

    Joined:
    3 Oct 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    After reading numerous posts, I have checked the CH pump and it seems to be able to move quite freely, so not seized.

    Could the problem be the thromostat, even when the mains is connected to it, it doesn't click.

    Also if the water pressure was too low would it cause the boiler to lock-out?, if I need to repressurise, where is the hose, I have been all around the boiler and cannot find it,

    Forgive my ignorance, a newbie at CH plumbing.
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. twgas

    twgas

    Joined:
    26 Oct 2007
    Messages:
    4,900
    Thanks Received:
    426
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Do you have HW? these boilers have HW priority so the HW must be satisfied before the heating will work.
     
  4. Buzz9991

    Buzz9991

    Joined:
    3 Oct 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes we have hot water, does this shed any more light
     
  5. twgas

    twgas

    Joined:
    26 Oct 2007
    Messages:
    4,900
    Thanks Received:
    426
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    do you have power coming back from the roomstat? if yes it might be the cold start stat (that's the HW priority bit).
    Do you have power to the pump?
     
  6. Buzz9991

    Buzz9991

    Joined:
    3 Oct 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sounds like I need to start tracing voltages to see where the problem lies.

    I have (maybe rashly) bought another room stat and will fit this tomorrow and see if this resolves the problem.
     
  7. twgas

    twgas

    Joined:
    26 Oct 2007
    Messages:
    4,900
    Thanks Received:
    426
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you can test for voltages, why not check to see if there is power to and from roomstat before you decide o scrap it.
     
  8. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
  9. Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page