Pressure dropping in CH - Vokera Combi

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi everyone hopefully you may be able to help

As the title says the pressure is dropping fairly quickly (In a day its gone from 1.5 bar to 0) in the central heating, ive recently done a bit work on a radiator but checked for leaks before i lay the new tiled floor.

Ive done many radiators in my time so im not a newbie to it and fairly confident in doing it

I had to do a couple of solder joints under the floor boards but same again all checked for leaks before overboarding

I added to the rad before filling and inhibitor

Ive checked the ceiling below where the rad and pipes are but no signs of leak

Is it possible my boiler has gone wrong and im obviously persuming its to do with my rad work or could my boiler be at fault

Ive got boiler insurance but reluctant to call them out if its not the boiler at fault

Im goiny to leave central heating off all night ill top it up and see if its dropped in the morning.

Can anyone please let me know if the boiler is possibly at fault

Regards

Kev

Sponsored Links
first thing i would check is the pressure relief pipe which will be outside the house probably at back of boiler is it dripping from there?

Hi

Ive just checked that pipe and there was a small amount of water inside the pipe ill keep an eye on it

If this is the case whats does that mean could be wrong

Kev

its likely you will need a new pressure relief valve if water is coming out of there, there relatively inexpensive and not difficult to change in most cases.

Sponsored Links
if your prv is leaking, first check the pressure in your expansion vessel

check all FAQS and hints and tips at top of page

check your boiler MIs for model specific operation

Ive also noticed when central heating is running the pressure used to go up to around 3.5 bar when heating was at its hottest it now only reaches around 2 bar

Does this point at pressure releif valve

Kev