Problem with CH (possible 3 port Valve)

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,
Just moved into a new house, and I'm having trouble with the CH system. I'm no expert on these, so please excuse any vagueness...

The boiler / CH / HW work fine when both set to timed on the controller, plenty of Hot water, and Radiators get hot.

If I go to switch the CH on by itself, outside the timer, nothing happens. Boiler stays on the pilot light, radiators remain cold.

I had a play about, and found that if i move the lever on the automatic 3 port valve (above the pump) to MANUAL, the CH then works, until the lever resets back to automatic (resets over night after CH switched off). The CH then stops working in stand-alone mode again, until i move the lever.

Ideas? Knackered valve? There is resistance in the valve when I move it to Manual (feels like a servo), and it does reset, so is it the valve or something else?

Sponsored Links
After a bit more playing around, I don't think the 3 port valve is broken. I think the controller is wired up wrong? the symptoms are:

2 hours after he ch/hw timed cycle has finished, I put the CH on - boiler fires for a few minutes, then stops.
Played with room thermostat, but that is not starting boiler again.

Switch HW on, boiler fires straight away, stays on indefinitely.

I think the HW and CH might be switched around inside the controller - the boiler turning off after a few minutes when CH switched on might be because the storage tank thermostat has kicked in (already near full from last HW cycle?)
Anyone any ideas?

These 3 port valves do appear to give a few problems. It is not easy to understand exactly how they function.