1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Problem with high pressure on potterton promax ultra 40

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by jameslpool, 1 Oct 2021.

  1. jameslpool

    jameslpool

    Joined:
    11 Jun 2012
    Messages:
    54
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi, not sure if i have an issue with pressure on my potterton promax ultra 40 boiler. we have recently started using the heating again and i noticed only when the heating was on the boiler kept flashing green alternating between 117 which is high pressure and then giving a pressure reading of 2.8 and 2.9.

    The boiler at rest was set to 1.5 which is also what potterson seem to suggest in the manual.

    I spoke to a gas engineer on the phone and he said knock it down to 1.0 and see if it still does it, he said if not i wouldn't worry but there may be an issue if it does still go high enough for it to worry.

    So at 1.0 the issue did actually go away and i haven’t seen it since, but i am just a little worried now that this boiler should recommends 1.5 and at that level it is going to high.

    Would you say this is probably fine set at 1.0 or do you think there probably is an underlying issue that probably needs looking at if at 1.5 it's getting to nearly 3 when in use for the heating?

    Regards

    James
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. kidgreen61

    kidgreen61

    Joined:
    8 Mar 2009
    Messages:
    2,416
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sounds as though the expansion vessel needs recharging.
     
  4. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    23,521
    Thanks Received:
    9,719
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As above you have an expansion problem
     
  5. terryplumb

    terryplumb

    Joined:
    8 May 2017
    Messages:
    6,166
    Thanks Received:
    1,278
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If there is an inherent problem with the expansion vessel ,when heating is used it would re occur . Does it ?
     
  6. jameslpool

    jameslpool

    Joined:
    11 Jun 2012
    Messages:
    54
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It re occurs only if the pressure is set to around 1.5, if set to 1 it doesn't go that high to give the message
     
  7. Sponsored Links
  8. terryplumb

    terryplumb

    Joined:
    8 May 2017
    Messages:
    6,166
    Thanks Received:
    1,278
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What does pressure rise to when heating is on ,from 1 bar cold ? As others have said above ,it sounds like you have a problem with your EV
     
  9. jameslpool

    jameslpool

    Joined:
    11 Jun 2012
    Messages:
    54
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I am actually testing this right now, at rest it was set to exactly 1.0 bar and I have not long put the heat on (about 10 mins) and the bar is now 2.7 temp is showing as 79c the error is not showing at the moment though
     
  10. terryplumb

    terryplumb

    Joined:
    8 May 2017
    Messages:
    6,166
    Thanks Received:
    1,278
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Your Expansion vessel isn't doing its job. It either Needs recharging ,or replacing.
     
  11. jameslpool

    jameslpool

    Joined:
    11 Jun 2012
    Messages:
    54
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks Terry, been keeping an eye on it, its reheated a couple of times now and the bar seems to be pretty set at about 2.4-2.5 now.
    There is a guy replacing a radiator of out next week and he was a little worried about doing it as i mentioned this to him, he then said he was happy to continue as i had been told be a gas fitter he knew that he gave me the no for that if set at 1 bar and not giving the error then would be ok to do the job.

    Im a little confused about if i should go ahead with that now, is it ok do you think if not giving the error and get the expansion vessel looked at afterwards?

    If there a way i can recharge it, or does it have to be done by a gas engineer?

    Do you know roughly how much it costs to get a recharge or replace that?

    James
     
  12. terryplumb

    terryplumb

    Joined:
    8 May 2017
    Messages:
    6,166
    Thanks Received:
    1,278
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You can change a radiator ,it's really nowt to do with your EV problem. If pressure increases to around 3 bar ,the PRV will lift to release water /lower pressure.
    You need to get it sorted ,when is your next boiler service due ,it can be charged then.
    If it transpires that it is knackered and needs replacing , prices vary around the country ,get a couple of quotes.
     
Loading...

Share This Page