RAM DDR2 Problem

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I was wanting to upgrade the ram to 2GB on my PC so I went to the shop where I bought it from back in Jan 07 along with receipt the chap could tell me which RAM was compatable as im no expert when it comes to PC's!.
The system i currently have is :-

Asrock AM2F6G-VSA AM2
AMD SEMPRON AM2 3400 ( 1800 Mhz )
512 MB A-DATA 533Mhz DDR2 ( 2 sticks )

So the Chap sold me 2 1GB DDR2 667Mhz DIMM and when i replaced these with the existing memory the PC just kept beeping and wouldn't boot up.
Could someone please advise if what I bought was actually the right thing as i've a feeling its not compatible :(

Thanks

Sponsored Links
It could be that the RAM supplied not compatible, however it is just as likely that it has not been correctly installed (i.e. not in correct slot).

Do you have the motherboard manual to hand to check positioning of memory modules?

Do not try and use original memory with new memory - at least until you establish that new memory works correctly on its own.

Not 100% sure of this but you will probably have a total of 4 memory slots which will be paired and colour coded (Yellow and Red?). The 2x1GB memory modules will need to be paired in the correct slot (i.e. the same colour).

Hi Tony, Yes thats correct 2 red and 2 yellow, I'll have a look at the manual its up in the attic somewhere and have another go.
Thanks for your advice, appreciated

I tried again, on boot up when the black screen comes up with white writing saying what memory, dvd drives etc you have it goes a bit fuzzy and just freezes.
The manual says it supports DDR 2 800/667/533.

When I put my DDR 2 533 's back in everything works fine.
I suppose all I can do is take the sticks back and see what the chap in shop says.

Cheers

Sponsored Links
Hi Igorian, When just 1 of the sticks are used the pc's fan turns but there is no signal to the monitor, just says "no signal" as if the PC was turned of.