Ravenheat White star intermittent and now not firing

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
As thread title says. Ok I am a trainee gas engineer and currently undergoing my 80 hours gas diary. I work alongside a corgi engineer and he asked me to go take a look at a boiler for him (as above). Fault was, initially the boiler would fire up run for about 30 seconds and then go cold again (DHW side). I didnt see this first hand because when i arrived I was met with the red flame light on and they have had no heating or water since yesterday. Turn the hot tap on and the fan starts and i hear the ignition sequence clicking away (but no sparks) and then it fails and red lights. Turn on the CH and nothing happens it is just dead. I am tempted to change the thermistors but would like some further advice before ploughing in and getting it all wrong.
Yes I could just ask the engineer I work with but he isn't going to be overly impressed if i go running back to him every time things get a bit tough. So I am running to you guys instead lol.

As a side note there has been a minor leak on the flow to the boiler and the pressure drops over time, the home owner has been, in his words (draining the boiler so that needle shoots round). My guess he's been topping it up until it blows off. Also the AAV is leaking but this didnt surprise me as the boiler has been running at 3 bar ever since mr home owner started "draining" the boiler.

Other info
The pump is free and seems to start
The flue fan starts (at maximum speed?? how can i check?)
System fails and red flame out light illuminates

Thanks in advance

Sponsored Links
not worked on that boiler, have you?

checked continuity on ignition lead??
checked gap on spark put a screw driver in n see if it arcs of that
then if not ignition pcb if seperate id go for pcb.

try tighten the nut if its on a joint.
if he's puttin too much pressure in have a quick check on the prv see if its dripping n while ya at it check his expansion