RCD and boiler circuit

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
A central heating circuit has a lot of individual items that can trip an RCD
Any advice on fault finding. i.e isolating individual parts to test insulation resistance.

Insulation resistance continuity testing of motors is something I have little experience of.
Knowing if a valve or pump is faulty is difficult as I not really sure what results I should get, and how you can test them with out having to take the thing apart.such as a valve.

Also disconnecting items

For example if I disconnected the pump to see if that stopped the tripping.
But would that remove a link in the chain of operation and stop the system working as it should so not give useful results. ( and the issue of the boiler being powered with no pump to circulate water concerns me)

Thanks .

Sponsored Links
You will need an Insulation Resistance tester, the knowledge of how to use it, understanding of what damage it could do and how to interpret the results.

Got all, or any of that?

Wouldn't touch it myself and would refer it to a heating engineer /
GSR man/woman

Sponsored Links
If you can pick up any (maybe eBay), the little testing guides Megger used to publish and distribute with its equipment in the 1950's/1960's are a good introduction to insulation testing and how to interpret the results. Obviously there's more in the way of electronics to complicate matters these days, but the basic principles with regard to motors and similar devices are the same now as they were 50 years ago.

yes you can disconnect a pump and see if it stops tripping. (don't run the boiler for more than a few seconds though if water isn't circulating). You could also connect the pump to a 13A plug.

Disconnecting motor Valves will stop the system working in most cases.
You could remove the lid and inspect these, or again put a plug on the brown/blue/green&yellow wires. (insulate the others)