1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Reading a smart meter

Discussion in 'Home Automation' started by Alec_t, 4 Aug 2020.

Tags:
  1. Alec_t

    Alec_t

    Joined:
    18 Mar 2017
    Messages:
    756
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Location:
    Wales
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I am in the process of moving into a house where both gas and electric supplies have smart meters. The previous occupier had broadband and both meters could be read remotely. However, there is currently no broadband at the house and I wish to supply initial meter readings taken manually, to set up accounts.
    The electric meter has a readable display but the gas meter display remains blank despite my pressing the two buttons as instructed on the meter itself. Does this indicate that (1) the meter battery needs replacing, (2) the meter is faulty, or (3) the meter is configured for remote reading only and manual reading is not possible ? (The gas supplier's Help-line staff have so far been unable to provide a convincing answer).
    The meter is a Landis & Gyr model G370.
    Is it a legal requirement that the cutomer should be able to take readings manually, to check that billing is correct?
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. Harry Bloomfield

    Harry Bloomfield

    Joined:
    30 Dec 2018
    Messages:
    8,282
    Thanks Received:
    1,144
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    A friends gas meter is the same and he has been on estimated readings for 12 months..
     
  4. Alec_t

    Alec_t

    Joined:
    18 Mar 2017
    Messages:
    756
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Location:
    Wales
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Interesting. I thought the supplier was legally obliged to take actual readings every so often, rather than use indefinite estimates?
     
  5. Harry Bloomfield

    Harry Bloomfield

    Joined:
    30 Dec 2018
    Messages:
    8,282
    Thanks Received:
    1,144
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I thought so too, but there has been chaos since they began with the smart meters. I'm on the third pair of meters, after changing supplier each year. I have been stuck with none reporting back meters since my supplier change before last, 18 months ago - but lots of promises to fit the later compatible versions.
     
  6. johnny2007

    johnny2007

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2012
    Messages:
    3,930
    Thanks Received:
    580
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    They'll rip your backside with improbable remote readings.
    That's the all point of forcing smart meters upon consumers.
    What other reason would they have?
    That's without counting the remote "moving" of meters.
    My friend got stuck at his mum's abroad during lockdown and I went to his place to empty the fridge and turn electricity, gas and water off.
    I took a picture of the meter readings as he wished.
    When he came back he found that meters had magically moved to higher readings.
    Suppliers are still investigating since June, in the mean time his bills remain at zero.
    He's been told in writing that until investigation is over he won't have to pay for gas and electricity.
    I bet they'll terminate his contract and run away now they've been caught.
     
  7. Harry Bloomfield

    Harry Bloomfield

    Joined:
    30 Dec 2018
    Messages:
    8,282
    Thanks Received:
    1,144
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Must admit, that apart from the smarts not being remote readable, the readings have been fine. I record E, G and W readings weekly, every Sunday.
     
  8. johnny2007

    johnny2007

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2012
    Messages:
    3,930
    Thanks Received:
    580
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Do you work as a station master? :LOL:
     
  9. mattylad

    mattylad

    Joined:
    27 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    8,282
    Thanks Received:
    631
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Do they use the consumers broadband?
    I thought they had their own network?
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. Harry Bloomfield

    Harry Bloomfield

    Joined:
    30 Dec 2018
    Messages:
    8,282
    Thanks Received:
    1,144
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    They use the equivalent of a mobile sim card and report back via mobile data.
     
  12. mattylad

    mattylad

    Joined:
    27 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    8,282
    Thanks Received:
    631
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So the issue is not the meters communicating but the OP being able to get online to the data.
    Can a phone be used to make a hotspot so a connection can be made?
     
  13. Harry Bloomfield

    Harry Bloomfield

    Joined:
    30 Dec 2018
    Messages:
    8,282
    Thanks Received:
    1,144
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No. The gas meter talks to the electric meter, which then uses a private secure mobile network to 'talk' back to base. The electric meter also 'talks' via a different wireless network to an indoor display, to show consumption etc.. It might be possible to hack into that last mentioned system, to show data on a PC, but I have never heard of anyone managing it yet.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  14. Harry Bloomfield

    Harry Bloomfield

    Joined:
    30 Dec 2018
    Messages:
    8,282
    Thanks Received:
    1,144
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My bills have always been absolutely accurate, no issues at all in that respect here, despite my annual changes in supplier.
     
  15. Alec_t

    Alec_t

    Joined:
    18 Mar 2017
    Messages:
    756
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Location:
    Wales
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You thought correctly. I initially assumed consumer broadband was involved but have since learned it's done as Harry says in post #11.
     
  16. ericmark

    ericmark

    Joined:
    27 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    18,596
    Thanks Received:
    1,745
    Location:
    Llanfair Caereinion, Nr Welshpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Seems to make sense, I refused to have an electric smart meter but agreed to having a gas smart meter, and they refused to fit the gas smart meter without also changing the electric one.
     
  17. Harry Bloomfield

    Harry Bloomfield

    Joined:
    30 Dec 2018
    Messages:
    8,282
    Thanks Received:
    1,144
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's because the gas meter relies entirely on a long life battery for its power. The electric meter has the mains available to power it, so its the obvious choice to use that for reporting back to both base and the indoor display.
     
  18. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page