Refinishing a table top

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Oak table with veneer. We've had it a few years but recently it suffered some damage to the surface (ink transfer from printed paper). Furniture insurance won't cover ink damage. It really needs sanding down and refinishing but I don't know who to turn to.

Any recommendations for West Midlands/Birmingham area?

Sponsored Links
stealthwolf, good evening.

OK up front, I work in the Insurance industry,but, my field is property [buildings] not "Contents insurance"
It sounds odd to me that the scenario you have where damage has been rejected?

Can I ask, who told you you were not covered,and more especially "exactly" why? were you given a "specific" so called exclusion clause, which you can check in your policy booklet

OK up front, I work in the Insurance industry,but, my field is property [buildings] not "Contents insurance"

Can I ask, who told you you were not covered,and more especially "exactly" why? were you given a "specific" so called exclusion clause, which you can check in your policy booklet
Still going to cost a fortune in excess, way more than a diy repair.

Sponsored Links

Staingard insurance. It lists what it covers (spills, scratches etc) and then states anything else is not covered by the policy. Happy to post it up here if required. Chap from Homeserve came to take photos and tried to remove the stains but said it needs to be sanded back. He took photos and sent then off. A while later, staingard told me the claim was rejected as not covered specifically.

claim was rejected as not covered specifically.

You could ask the insurer to how you the precise wording that "excludes" print transfer ? and show you in the policy booklet where print transfer is an exclusion, not simply a "blanket / catch all" get out clause??

It could be argued that print transfer is a form of spillage?