Reinforce roof for hanging a punchbag?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Right, I have no diy experience, also am cackhanded. :confused: Not gonna stop me though.

My landlord said its ok to hang it from the outhouse, if I reinforce the beam. I'm going to be heavily punching and kicking an 80 kg bag, which I think technically triples the weight during the sessions. I was hoping someone could advice me on the best/easiest method for me to reinforce it.

Landlord said to connect another beam alongside the current one to strengthen it and add "bits" diagonally to the wall to make a triangle like shape at either end of the beam. I'm scared the roof will fall on my head though, so thought I 'd ask people in the know to be safe

Cheers!

Sponsored Links
Ad some noggins,[ timber between existing] and and screw a half sheet of ply over the area and fix bag hook to centre, then if bag hits the ceiling during use the ply will take the impact. ;)

Ad some noggins,[ timber between existing] and and screw a half sheet of ply over the area and fix bag hook to centre, then if bag hits the ceiling during use the ply will take the impact. ;)

Who the hell is going to hit a 176 pound bag hard enough for it to hit the ceiling? :eek:

Me, kickboxing, had a bag in my companies underground garage mounted on a 3mtr ceiling and good jumping side kick would have it hit the ceiling easily.

Sponsored Links
Dunno much about kick-boxing but are you sure the bag is 80kg? My nephew is into it and reckons the heaviest bags available are about 45kg.

If you are right then it depends what fixings are going to be used. It seems pointless doubling up the beam if there is a single eye bolt going vertically through only one of them. If there is a mounting plate/bracket that can be attached to/go through both, then your landlords suggestion seems suitable. If he suggested it then he can hardly blame you for any damage to the roof structure. (Your own safety is another matter!)