reinforcing for a loft hatch - questions

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello all.

I've been browsing this forum for a while, but this is my first time posting.

I have a 1930's house with a huge loft which is currently not boarded in any way.

The existing loft hatch is tiny and right in the gables, so essentially un-usable. I am planning to put a new loft hatch/ladder set in, reinfice the floor, board the floor and then finally I might be able to move some of my junk up there.

I understand the basics of how to do this - reinforce the joists either side of the cut, double thickness cross braces, use joist hangers etc - there have been some good write-ups on this. However, I have a few questions.

1) When I double up the existing joists, am I right in thinking I reinforce the entire length of the joist? I know that it needs nuts and bolts through both joists, rather than just tacking it with screws, but I have not seen any mention of how many bolts should go in. Some write-ups have used 4 or 6 for the entire length, where as others have used 1 bolt every two foot.

2) Is there a specific grade of timber that I should be using for these joist reinforcements? I.e is regular wood acceptable, or should it be engineered joists?

Also - are there any guidelines for the sizes of the reinforcement beams? The existing joists are 8x2, so if I use a second 8x2, is that sufficient, or should I use something like 8x4?

3) Same for the cross joists where I cut the original joist - any recommendations for timber and dimensions?

4) I am not planning on keeping anything hugely heavy in the loft, but I will be filled with household junk. Is it worth me thinking about adding additional joist supports as well - either reinforcing the existing joists or adding noggins between the joists?

Many thanks indeed.

Steve

Sponsored Links

DIYnot Local

Staff member