Remove Honeywell stat from heating system wiring

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi folks. I'm a rank amateur here at best, however with a bit of work I have successfully installed a Nest Thermostat and Heatlink to run my heating and hot water.

However there is an old Honeywell thermostat which is still wired through the junction box which is still active in the system so I'd like to remove this. I've attached pictures of the Honeywell stat and the wiring diagram contained within it. I've also drawn some very rudimentary circuit diagrams to show how it is currently wired into the system and how I believe I cam rewire to bypass it.

So what I want to know is, do my crude wiring diagrams look correct and if they are then can I rewire the junction box as per picture B to bypass the old thermostat? The thermostat diagram shows some resistors in the thermostat, am I risking causing damage to the system if theae are bypassed?

Any help would be greatly appreciated

Last edited:
Sponsored Links
Apologies, pressed the wrong button on my phone and it posted too early, pictures are all there now. Thanks

The resistor in the stat is just there to improve the accuracy of the stat itself, it’s not required.
You should be disconnecting the thermostat wiring at the heating wiring centre. I assume that is where the NEST receiver is located?

Your wiring diagram is wrong. If you connect the neutral to the call for heat there will be a bang, and you’ll be buying a new Nest.
Just remove the stat wiring at the wiring centre. Nothing else needs doing b

Sponsored Links
Yes exactly, the main junction box is upstairs in the airing cupboard which is where the Nest receiver is. I am assuming then I can just patch the relevant cables on the junction box as per picture B and that would cut out the thermostat then? Does that sound right?

Thanks

Central-heating.bmp