Removing chipboard flooring

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
As part of my current home project I need to lift a large channel of chipboard flooring along a landing and through a bedroom, from one side of the house to the other!

On the landing, one end of the boards ends under a banister and the other end runs under a stud wall and into bedrooms, which run alongside the landing. It isn't therefore possible to lift FULL boards, so I will need to cut a channel down the middle. The joists run at 90 degrees to the direction in which I want to cut the boards i.e. from the banister through the bedrooms to the back wall of the house. The purpose of lifting the boards is to allow a heating engineer to run new 22mm supply and return pipe from the boiler to the bathroom.

I have a fein multimaster, which I've used in the past for cutting through flooring, but it would take too long for this long run of boards.

I've borrowed an old Bosch PKS 46 circular saw and so may be able to use this, but not if I want to get closer to the wall than it allows! As I don't have a circular saw I was considering investing in one and had a look at the mini circular saws, but not sure they are upto this particular job due to the small blade sizes.

I want to try to prevent the boards squeaking when I re-lay them, so want to consider what I can do to minimise movement before removing the boards.

Assuming I cut too straight lines along the landing and through the bedroom at about 50cm apart, then remove all the nails for this run and cut the boards at each end along a joist. I should then be able to lift the long rectangular section of chipboard and retain the tongue and groove between each board.