Renault Scenic occasional misfire

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
We have a Renault Scenic 1600 RT (petrol), about ten years old and 52,000 miles on the clock. In the last week or so it's suffered from a very occasional misfire.

It's most likely to happen when pulling away up a hill or out of a junction and always at the same time. You change to second gear and, just as the clutch comes up and the throttle goes down, there is a momentary loss of power. I'm not an engine expert but it certainly feels like a misfire to me.

It never happens when idling or driving down the open road and seems to be limited to that one time when using quite a lot of throttle at low(ish) revs. I'm also inclined to think that it's more likely to happen after the car has just rounded a bend.

One bit of information might be relevant. Nine days ago we filled up at an unfamiliar garage - which I won't name in case it isn't relevant. I think the misfire started after that though it's hard to be sure when it occurs so infrequently. Is it possible that poor petrol - or the wrong kind of petrol - could be the cause or is it mere coincidence and I should be looking for something else? :?: :?: :?:

Any advice will be greatly appreciated. :) :) :)

Sponsored Links
Update:

The problem just became persistent. Almost without exception, the engine does not respond correctly to the throttle. As before, it's worse at lowish revs when it feels as if the thing just isn't firing on all cylinders. It can be provoked while stationary by revving at just above idle speed and then the exhaust gas comes out in bursts instead of the usual steady flow. On a test drive through city traffic, there was just one instant in second gear when the engine responded with normal power but it only lasted a couple of seconds. :( :( :(