Repairing cracked / rippled interior corner tape?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi everyone, this is my first post and I'm an absolute beginner when it comes to all types of DIY. I can hear most of you groaning :D

The tape in the internal corners of our house has buckled, cracked and rippled. I've taken some off the wall and there was nothing behind it except for grey plasterboard. The tape itself looked as though it must have been self adhesive as some of it has stuck to the wall. Behind the tape the wall itself is fine and undamaged. On top of the tape looks like a very fine sparkly powder and then HEAPS of paint.

This is a newbuild, approx 6 years old.

What I think I need to do is fill the corners with something? Add more tape, and skim over. Sounds simple, I know it's not going to be brilliant, but it's got to look better than what's there already.

I've had a look at the wiki but I can't determine what the plaster products that I require are called. Is anyone able to point me in the right direction? I'll probably have to shop at B&Q or Homebase.

Also, we had a new kitchen fitted recently and it involved moving around some cupboards but didn't include repainting. Some parts of the walls are grey. Does this mean the plaster board hasn't been finished properly? Can I just paint over this or does it need more work?

If the answers to my questions are elsewhere I am happy for links etc :)

Thanks for reading :)

Sponsored Links
What you have is a dry-lined wall, that has been tape jointed rather than plaster finished.
The tapes that can be used for this method can be white paper tapes (like this: paper tapes) that are stuck on using joint cement compound (like this: easi-fill) or self adhesive nylon tapes (like this: nylon tapes) that will stick without the use of adhesive/compound.