Repairs to lime render and plaster

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,
My house has got various cracked or crumbling bits of render both inside and out (mainly just cracks outside, a couple of crumbling bits inside). I can't afford to get builder to fix them so I'm going to have to attempt it myself. I've attached a couple of pictures of one bit that needs doing. The whole strip of plaster next to the window has crumbled with the worst bit being where I've pulled the paper back. I would like to repair it using lime since that's what it's currently made of. How exactly would I go about doing it? I think I'm a fairly competent DIYer but I've never worked with lime plaster before. Many thanks in advance!

James

wall1.jpg
wall2.jpg

Sponsored Links
Crumbling render like in the pics is typically caused by penetrating damp.

Hack off that panel of render back to masonry, and post a pic of the bare masonry surface.
Post pics showing the exterior render cracks and of any other internal crumbling patches.

Are your walls solid?
Do you have a wainscot panelling on the lower part of the external walls?

FWIW: you are missing a piece of the window frame staff bead - this will possibly make the lower sash unsafe.

Hi,
Thanks for the reply. The walls are solid and there is 4' of hardboard panelling around the room. I'll get some pictures of the outside as soon as I can. Before I start hacking off render though, is it going to be possible to re plaster at this time of year? The house does have central heating.

That staff bead has been missing for a while now as I started renovating the windows and din't get round to finishing them before the winter. They're screwed in place though so don't pose any risk.

Thanks,
James

Yes, no problem with plaster or render in winter.

If penetrating damp is an issue you might have damp behind the hardboard panelling - who installed the panelling?

Sponsored Links