Replace PRT2 thermostat with REV23

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all

I'm trying to replace my PRT2 stat with a Siemens REV23, but the wiring diagram has thrown me slightly. (I'm no electrician/plumber, but I'm smart enough to not zap myself...I just don't want to zap my new controller)

The PRT2 has the following connections :
2 3 4 5
Com H TL N

And the REV23 has the following connections :

L L1 L2 T1 T2

Am I trying to match the connections on each unit. So far, I have :

PRT2 REV23
TL --> L
N --> L1

I would like to know, which wires to connect to T1 and T2?

Cheers

Sponsored Links
I'd also like to know how to connect the wires to the Rev23 terminal block.
Instead of screws it has white plastic blocks. I can't seem to work out how to get the blocks to grip on the wires.

Cheers

Kipling said:
I'd also like to know how to connect the wires to the Rev23 terminal block.
Instead of screws it has white plastic blocks. I can't seem to work out how to get the blocks to grip on the wires.

Cheers

ebay the rev23 and buy a new PRT2 for about £20. They are very good stats and you would be taking a step back if the rev23 is bimetallic variety(I don't know that particular model)

Can we assume that you have a normal twin channel programmer at the moment and wish to use the REV23 to fully control the heating?

If so, can you let us know what colour wires you have connected to the PRT2.

Sponsored Links
EliteHeat said:
Can we assume that you have a normal twin channel programmer at the moment and wish to use the REV23 to fully control the heating?

If so, can you let us know what colour wires you have connected to the PRT2.

I've got 3 wires

Red
Blue
Yellow

When disconnecting the PRT2, the connections were :

Red = COM
Blue = N
Yellow = H
(There is also a connection between TL and COM on the PRT2)

Cheers

The REV23 is a very good programmable room stat. I have fitted loads.