1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Replaced a PIR sensor, getting a tamper light on Scantronic 9448 system

Discussion in 'Alarms, CCTV & Telephones' started by apacheDIYman, 4 Mar 2020.

  1. apacheDIYman

    apacheDIYman

    Joined:
    22 Sep 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I replaced a sensor using the configuration in the attached photo. It matches that of another sensor in the house. However I keep getting a tamper light.

    Does it need an engineers reset after a sensor change or does this indicate bad wiring?

    Also I noticed from online tutorials the normal colours for tamper are green and yellow but someone had wired them as green and white on one sensor. Has this happened to work because of they way they connected it at the panel? I'm guessing best practice is green and yellow make up the tamper?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Sponsored Links
  3. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    8,886
    Thanks Received:
    1,351
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Errrr no the colour can be what ever ....what colours did the last sensor use ? Did you take a picture before ?
     
  4. apacheDIYman

    apacheDIYman

    Joined:
    22 Sep 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes attached.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    8,886
    Thanks Received:
    1,351
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    From the look of that ....tamper is green and yellow , alarm blue and white
    Swop the yellow with white in the replacement
     
  6. apacheDIYman

    apacheDIYman

    Joined:
    22 Sep 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks this makes sense, however I am an idiot and forgot to remove the power as I just did it. I think as I removed the yellow it blew a fuse as the fuse wire has broke. Hoping I can just replace it and it works.
     
  7. apacheDIYman

    apacheDIYman

    Joined:
    22 Sep 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok so replaced the fuse, swapped the yellow and white, the wiring looks correct and all the sensors initialise.

    I get a difference tamper light now, before the tamper light was flashing with the zone I had replaced, but now its just a flat tamper light without any zone flashing which suggests a different tamper problem?
     
  8. apacheDIYman

    apacheDIYman

    Joined:
    22 Sep 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just to confirm I have had the battery replaced and the wiring looks spot on, any idea why a new sensor would do this? Only thing I can think is that the old sensors were NC. Whilst these Risco IWise ones dont have NC written but just "alarm" where the wires go.
     
  9. Sponsored Links
  10. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    8,886
    Thanks Received:
    1,351
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    All devices are normally closed apart from some old pressure mats ....just check what jumpers you have fitted on that device ...
     
  11. apacheDIYman

    apacheDIYman

    Joined:
    22 Sep 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks - I have left them as the default ones. i.e no jumpers attached apart from the 12v selection
     
  12. apacheDIYman

    apacheDIYman

    Joined:
    22 Sep 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ANyway I can isolate the sensors? Can i safely loops the tampers by connecting them together and by pass the sensor?
     
  13. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    8,886
    Thanks Received:
    1,351
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Twist the tamper pair together at the detector and try to set it ....what happens
     
  14. apacheDIYman

    apacheDIYman

    Joined:
    22 Sep 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thanks will give it a go
     
  15. apacheDIYman

    apacheDIYman

    Joined:
    22 Sep 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks, after isolating all of them and turning one on by one, I isolated as two being an issue with the front tamper spring not connecting, who would have thought brand new sensors need the spring adjusting!!

    Thanks again
     
  16. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page