Replacing a ceiling light

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
HI,
I'm new to this and have never replaced a ceiling a light before so would be nice to get some help.
I have a existing ceiling at the centre of the room which is rather dull so want to replace it with something brighter.
I have opened up the existing light fixture which fits into a hole of a diameter of 20cm. It's wired using what looks two wires to a white funnel type plastic withing the light fixture. The problem I'm having with this is how to remove the wires from the white funnel type plastic thing (appolgies for not knowing the technical term for this !) so that I can completely remove existing light fixture from the ceiling. Seems as the wires are somehow attached to the white plastic thing but can't really any screws.
I have yet to buy the new light fixture but thought I would remove the existing one first so that I see what my options are to replace it with.
Let me know if you need any more detail or indeed any pictures.

Sponsored Links
I think a picture would help as it sound like the plastic tube you are attempting to disconnect is actual part of the fitting and the hardwiring of your installation is at the ceiling rose.
20cm (near 8 inch hole) also sounds quite extreme!

I think a picture would help as it sound like the plastic tube you are attempting to disconnect is actual part of the fitting and the hardwiring of your installation is at the ceiling rose.
20cm (near 8 inch hole) also sounds quite extreme!
Ok, I have updated with pics.
Also, noticed there were screws which held the wires in place which I couldn't see before so managed to undo them and disconnect it.
Wondering if any recommendations on what to replace it with, maybe a spotlight with a cover base of more than 25cm?