Replacing An Old Potterton Controller for a Drayton

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello

Hopefully a quick question. Moved into a house and one of the long list of issues is fixing the central heating. The issue is that the controller unit for our Potterton boiler is broken. Not sure of the exact model but its something like the EP2002 7 day unit. From what I'm aware I cant buy a new unit like for like, so I went for a Drayton LP722 model.

When I took the old unit away, I was presented with two wires (one 2 and one 3 core). I studied carefully how the old unit was wired in relation to the wiring diagram. But I wasn't confident of translating that across to the Drayton unit. Can anyone help me. I've included a picture of the wiring below. Its a standard open vented system with feeder and expansion tank in the loft. Hot water tank in one of the upstairs rooms, and boiler in the kitchen.

Many thanks
Ribble

Attachments

• wiring.jpg
    wiring.jpg
    193.6 KB · Views: 818
Sponsored Links
To do that we need to know what each of the terminals of the original programmer did (and there are lots of variants, not all programmers have identical connections, even those from the same manufacturer). There should be a diagram marked on it somewhere showing this information.

Then we need to know which of the wires in your photo went to each terminal. From that we can work out what each wire does and then tell you where to connect them at the Drayton.

There's no such thing as a standard system when it comes to wiring unfortunately, much depends upon the layout of the various components of your heating system in relation to each other and the personal preferences of the installer.

Also, with the previous installation, could you have the central heating 'on' on its own, without the hot water also being on at the same time?

Ok - Posted a pic of the Potterton wiring diagram and a better pic of how the guy that installed it had wired it up.

Attachments