Replacing Central Heating timer/programmer

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi I have a very old SWITCHMASTER 400 timer and I'm looking to replace it with an electronic programmer.

It's a 24 hour mechanical timer with an Off/Timed/Constant switch and Water/Heating & Water switch.

I want to change it for a 7 day electronic one and also to be able to control the water and heating independently if possible.

I've seen a CentaurPlus C27 on TLC http://www.tlc-direct.co.uk/Technical/DataSheets/Horstmann/C11.htm which ticks all the boxes but I'm not sure if my current wiring will allow me to do this.

The terminals on the back of the timer are N L 1 2 3 4 with 1 being CH On, 3 being HW On and 4 is CH Off. 2 is blank.

Apart from Live, Neutral and Earth only 1 and 3 are wired.

Firstly, am I able to direclt replace it with the CentaurPlus C27 - WITHOUT ADDITIONAL WIRING?
Secondly, why is terminal 4 not wired? Is this what a 'Single Circuit System' is?

If I can't use the C27 would the C17 do?

Sorry for all the questions but the more info I'm reading the more confused I'm getting!

Cheers
Boff

Sponsored Links
terminal 4 on the switchmaster is HW off in my manual.

I replaced my switchmaster with a C21 (same as C27 but only a 1 day programmer) so you should have no problems.

Ok cheers for that I'll give it a go and see how I get on then.

As for terminal 4, I'm pretty sure it said CH Off on the panel and I checked the manual for the newer Switchmaster 400 on the net and that said CH Off too. Doesn't really matter I suppose, it isn't wired anyway.

Boff

Sponsored Links
Cheers for that. It def says 4 is CH Off btw.

So I'd just run 1 --> 4 and 3 --> 3 then, looking at that. And I can just leave 4 (2 on the C21/27) out then as it is now.

One way to find out I suppose! Off to TLC tomorrow then.

Thanks again

good luck and make sure that youve got a 3 amp fuse on the supply to the central heating system wiring ;) .