1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

replacing Digistat RF2 abd SCR with Hive heating only

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by Adel Iskander, 18 Jul 2019.

  1. Adel Iskander

    Adel Iskander

    Joined:
    18 Jul 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi,
    Please find attached a photo shot of Digistat SCR current wiring.
    A bit confusing because terminal 2 is not used at all.
    How do I wire hive in this case. Digistat scr.jpg
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    36,099
    Thanks Received:
    4,033
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Have you bought the single channel Hive?
     
  4. Adel Iskander

    Adel Iskander

    Joined:
    18 Jul 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for getting back so quick.
    It is a single channel Hive.
     
  5. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    36,099
    Thanks Received:
    4,033
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Then - the Hive wiring is exactly the same.

    However, you seem to have extra wires connected.
    Do you still, perhaps, have an old programmer still in place but permanently set to Heating On - or an old thermostat similarly set or its wiring connected together?
     
  6. Sponsored Links
  7. Adel Iskander

    Adel Iskander

    Joined:
    18 Jul 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have wireless system, photo enclosed.
    The SCR wirless system.jpg connected to Baxi combi boiler
     
  8. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    36,099
    Thanks Received:
    4,033
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Yes, but that is wireless.

    I think that there might have been an old wired thermostat there before and they have just connected the wires together.

    As it is, all you have to do is fit the Hive to the backplate (although you may want to use the new Hive backplate).


    Whilst this will work as before, it is a bit of a bodge leaving unnecessary live wiring in place.
    When you have removed the RF2 post a picture of any wires behind it and then you can reconfigure the backplate wiring and disconnect redundant wires.
     
  9. Adel Iskander

    Adel Iskander

    Joined:
    18 Jul 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi,
    the wire behind the RF2 is dead. dead cable.jpg Back plate.jpg It has been disconnected over 13 years ago when we had the combi boiler professionally fitted .
    I have enclosed 2 photos of back plate and the dead cable in the wall.

    The system now up and running.
    Thank you for your help, very much appreciated .
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    36,099
    Thanks Received:
    4,033
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
  11. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page