1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Replacing Drayton RTS1 with Honeywell CM907

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by Gavster, 17 May 2013.

  1. Gavster

    Gavster

    Joined:
    17 May 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi,

    I am trying to replace my Drayton RTS1 thermostat with a Honeywell CM907, my boiler is a Baxi Combi 133HE Plus.

    The Drayton RTS1 had three wires connected, Neutrel, Live & 3 (Call), the backbox also had a earth cable connected.

    The Honeywell CM907 only has two connections to use, A & B. I have connected the Live to A & the Call to B, blocking off Neutral When I turns on, I hear the click to say it's turning on the heating & I see the flame symbol on the LCD display.

    The boiler has a summer/winter mode enabled, summer = Hot Water only, where as Winter = Heating & Hot Water, so I have the Winter mode enabled, I've also set the dial on the boiler to constant, so that the thermostat will turn on the heating when desired.

    However, the boiler doesn't turn on when the therm wants it too, the boiler pretty much is on constantly. I've search around the net to see if anyone else has the same issue/configuration, but can't seem to find anything.

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. doitall

    doitall

    Joined:
    8 Jan 2005
    Messages:
    19,003
    Thanks Received:
    1,538
    Location:
    Bath
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have you programmed it correctly
     
  4. Gavster

    Gavster

    Joined:
    17 May 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes, I had the same Honeywell CM907 stat at a previous house.

    Currently the stat is in the off position, however it still turns the heating on.
     
  5. doitall

    doitall

    Joined:
    8 Jan 2005
    Messages:
    19,003
    Thanks Received:
    1,538
    Location:
    Bath
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    my 921 did that yesterday, I turned it on to auto and then off again and it was fine.
     
  6. Gavster

    Gavster

    Joined:
    17 May 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I tried that too. It's currently off, however the boiler seems to be overriding it & the heating is coming on all the time
     
  7. Sponsored Links
  8. doitall

    doitall

    Joined:
    8 Jan 2005
    Messages:
    19,003
    Thanks Received:
    1,538
    Location:
    Bath
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Check the timer and frost stat if there's one.

    Where is A_B wired into the boiler connections.

    Did the old Drayton work.
     
  9. McCombi

    McCombi

    Joined:
    9 Jun 2012
    Messages:
    2,508
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Unlikely if prev stat worked but ia the a and b wired into 1 and 2 terminals on boiler next to incoming mains on boiler beside pcb? Is there a link wire between 1 and 2? If so remove link.
     
  10. Gavster

    Gavster

    Joined:
    17 May 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The old stat worked fine before I changed to the Honeywell.

    Where will the PCB be on the boiler? All I see are the controls for setting the timer etc.
     
  11. Gavster

    Gavster

    Joined:
    17 May 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've put my old Drayton stat back on, however I no longer hear the click anymore & it doesn't appear to be firing up the boiler. The boiler does it on its own accord.
     
  12. Gavster

    Gavster

    Joined:
    17 May 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Any suggestions, I've reset the boiler, checked the wiring again, putting the Honeywell back on, but still it doesn't turn the boiler on. The boiler is on all the time, no matter what setting the stat is set to.
     
  13. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page