Replacing like for like 2 gang 2 way switch , now not workin

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am really lost.
I have replaced all the light switch front plates in my new house( they were brass and the lighting circuit isn't earthed!)and they work fine, except for this one.
Its a 2 way 2 gang switch that is only being used as a 1 way switch. It was wired in the following way.

All wires are red.

Common to common on each switch then one cable to L2 on switch 1 and a piece of cable not attached to anything from L1 to L1.
Now only one of the switches works and the other doesnt. I swapped the L2 on one switch to the other, then that worked and the other didn't?

The other switch that I replaced that was 2 gang and had 4 cables yet this one only has 3 (2 commons and L2)

I'm a complete novice when it comes to electrics and I can't find anything like this using search on these forums. Any help would make the last 3 hours of trying nearly worthwhile.

Sponsored Links
You need to be a little more descriptive.

Could you post a pic?

Are there blacks in a terminal block in the back box? (leave them in it).

How many reds to you have from the wall? 3 or 4?

I would identify the 'live' wire and put this in 'com' on SW1 then a short wire to link 'com' on SW1 to 'com' on SW2.
You should be left with two wires. one to each switch L1 or (L2 if you like)
If you have 4 wires, then there will be 2 which are 'live' and one of these would be used istead of the short link.
If you're a novice, try drawing the terminals and wires to see how the complete circuit is made.
:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Thanks for the quick replies.
There are 3 red wires in total and yes there are black wires in the back of the box that are in a block.
I don't understand why there would be a piece of wire from L1 on one switch to L1 on the other. Is this to complete the circuit? If so it doesn't make the other switch work with or without it.